Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The past several weeks I have discussed the importance of diversity in a writing group and I plan to discuss that further. However, this week I have decided to look at another aspect of your writing group and that is how they inspire.

Yesterday as I was working on formatting my book, Woman of the Heartland. I came across a passage that took my breath away because I found the images and descriptions so lovely. How had I managed to write something which astounded me?

It is my plan to self-publish my book and I hope to finish it by May 1st. How does this tie to inspiration? Well four members of my group already took the plunge and self-published their books. Actually I should have known our group would venture in to the world of POD and e-book. Six years ago when I and Jeanne started the group she had already self-published one book and soon did another. Perhaps she inspired these four. Erv whose book looks at a world on the edge of chaos, Carmel’s work of inspirational fiction that explored the foster care system in early Canada, Melissa, who has guided us in all things technical and helped with formatting, stories of the Kitsune and YumaBev who turned her blog entries into a hard copy to reach more people and give information about and show the humorous side of her life with early unset Parkinson’s.

These five people have motivated me to get going, to get my book out there, to GET IT DONE. And the whole group has inspired me so that I could write this passage:

“It was Friday and the excitement of the approaching weekend spilled from every schoolroom and sloshed into the halls. Laughter bubbled out of the usually quiet classrooms and rose to the ceiling swaggering along drunk with the considerations of free time.

It was a typical January day in Minnesota, rigid with cold. The thermometer her dad kept outside the kitchen window registered thirty-five below that morning. The sky, a vivid blue, was alive with a secret life and cloudless. By noon, though, clouds swept in from the southwest and pressed on the landscape heavy with the portent of a storm to come. The temperature had risen above zero and hovered around twenty degrees. At one o’clock, it started to snow. At first just a few lazy flakes came down but with each passing minute, the number increased. Two o’clock came and the snow was thick as newly separated milk. Looking out the windows of the school the main road was barely visible.”

From Woman of the Heartland: Rural Upbringing soon to be available for purchase. Book based on my mother’s childhood.

