“Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before! What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store. What if Christmas…perhaps…means a little bit more!”

― Dr. Seuss, How the Grinch Stole Christmas!

 

Dr. Seuss that creative genius got it right. The Grinch’s story is one of the best of Christmas stories.  Of course, one could say he got it from another great writer who created his curmudgeon Scrooge. Who doesn’t like to see a positive transformation?

This blog can’t match those two men’s genius but I want to let those following me know what has transpired this past year.  One of the beauties of being retired is you have a chance to accomplish some of the things you thought you were too busy to do while working. I have found it to be true for me. This past year I published my second book based on my mother’s life and I dusted off, edited and published a book of fiction one which I had begun in those years while I was working.  Lost in the Nowhere sprang from my musing on what happens after someone dies? Where does that little piece of ourselves we call a soul go? What happens if something goes wrong in the process? When you write you often find your characters ideas are different from yours and they take you in ways you hadn’t planned. The wise writer goes along for the ride. I went there with Arthur Brooks and he showed me how he resolved these questions. So far those who have read it have enjoyed it. Now I must answer the question: What next? With a drawer full of books in progress, a just finished 50,000 words in NaNoWriMo what should I do next? Well one thing for sure I will get help from my writing group and its why I need one and I’m sure others out there agree.

